Looking for Nonprofit Jobs?

The two premier job sites for the nonprofit sector are Opportunityknocks.org and Idealist.org. Though both are great, I like Opportunityknocks better for job searches because its results are more focused, especially when you specify a location.

Idealist is not just for job seekers – you can find volunteer opportunities, look for speakers and events, post to a forum, and search for internships and graduate programs, using fine-grained search criteria. There are lots of Web 2.0 features there, too, from Twitter feeds to podcasts and blogs.

Because it’s so feature rich and multipurpose, its community is much larger, with more job postings, than Opportunityknocks. But the search results are often far too broad for me (when I specify “San Francisco,” with a range of 0 miles, I don’t want to see Oakland jobs 20 miles away).

As with Indeed.com, I use both nonprofit job boards to identify organizations that are a good match for my background and interests, and then I research those organizations and check back often for new job postings. These days, employers get so many applicants to obscure postings, they might not bother using job boards like Opportunityknocks and Idealist.

Another strategy I use is to start with my interests, such as housing, and search Idealist for housing-related nonprofits in my area. Then I research and check back, as above. I always tell employers where I saw their job posting, and a phrase or sentence showing I know something about their mission and their work. Often, they’re impressed that I found their Web site.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Great story!

    If you’re looking for a high level / high paying nonprofit jobs, we recently launched Zoosa (www.zoosa.org) as a single destination for all social enterprise resources: news, blogs, actions/ideas, tweets, and jobs / professionals skills-based volunteer opportunities in the clean-tech, education, government, health care, and nonprofit sectors. Thanks to our partners, we already have several thousand nonprofit jobs & social enterprise resources posted!

    I’d love to hear your feedback if you get a chance to visit our site!

    Mike

    • Posted by myfourthrecession on June 24, 2009 at 8:02 pm

      Thanks, Mike, Zoosa is very promising. I hope it grows very quickly so it will be of use to me here in Sacramento (zero listings at the moment), and to socially conscious job seekers all around the country. I’ll check back later.

Comments are closed.

